How to Make Your Facebook Friends’ List Private
We use social media for various reasons, but one of the major reasons, is to connect with people, and we can do that with people from all walks of life. This is what Facebook has been helping people achieve for a long time.
Facebook revolves round “friends”. You send friend requests and you can build up your friend list. This is both fun and exciting, but when your friend list is visible to the public, it can give privacy concerns.
Facebook allows anyone to see your friend list by default. But what of if you want to limit your friend list only to a smaller audience. Well, it is possible. You will need to understand your privacy settings and from there control who can see your friend list. Let’s dive into how:
How to Make Your Facebook Friends’ List Private on Web Browser
1. Open your preferred web browser and sign into your Facebook account.
2. Next, click on your profile icon which you’ll see at the top right of the screen.
3. Select “Settings & Privacy” and then click on “Settings”
4. Next, click on Privacy.
5. After that, click on “Check A Few Important Settings”.
6. Next, click on “Who Can See What you Share”.
7. After that, click “Continue” to get to the Privacy Checkup page.
8. Next, go down to the bottom of the screen and locate the drop-down menu beside “Who Can See your Friend List on your Profile?”. Select “Only me”.
9. You can also hide the accounts you’re following by clicking on the drop-down beside “Who can see People, Pages, and Lists you follow” and changing the selection to “Only Me”.
When you do all these, no one will be able to see your friend list. You may also allow only your friends to view your friend list instead of only you. Read on to find out what this entails.
How to Make Your Facebook Friends’ List Private on Mobile
If you wish to change the privacy settings for your friend list on your mobile device, you can easily do so. Here’s how:
1. Open the Facebook app on your Android phone or iPhone.
2. Next, tap the menu icon. This icon is at the top right corner of Android devices whole iOS users will find it in the lower left corner.
3. Now, tap the Settings icon at the top of the menu.
4. Select “Profile Settings”.
5. Select “Who Can See What You Share”.
6. Next, tap Continue to see the Privacy Checkup page.
7. After that, move down to the Who can see your friends list on your profile option, and choose “Only Me”.
8. If you want only hour friends or some certain audience to only view the friend list, choose an option other than “Only me”.
Facebook Friends List Privacy Options Explained
If you want some flexibility, you can choose who exactly you want to view your friend list. It doesn’t have to be only you. In this section, we take a look at the Friend List Privacy option that are available on Facebook:
Public: Everyone that visits your profile can see your Friends list.
Friends: Your Facebook friends are the only people that can see your Friends list.
Friends except: All your Facebook friend can see your friends list except those you select to hide it from.
Specific Friends: Only friends that you select can see your friend list.
Only me: Your friend list is only visible to you.
Custom: Only people in the “Lists” you select (such as “Close friends,” “Acquaintances,” “custom created lists,” etc.) Can see your Friends list.
Don’t share with: Only people you select won’t see your friends list
With the growing number of identity theft and scams on the internet today, it is very important to protect your friends and their information so that they are not scammed. Also knowing the privacy option that are available enables you set the right privacy measures. We hope you found this helpful? If you did, kindly leave a comment and don’t forget to share…